Law Society NT Logo
Law Society NT Logo
  • Home
  • Directory & links
  • Legal associations
  • NT Young Lawyers (NTYL)

Northern Territory Young Lawyers (NTYL)

The NTYL represents lawyers in the NT who have been admitted to practice for less than five years, as well as graduate clerks and GDLP students (even if not yet admitted). Despite being called the 'young lawyers', there is no age restriction on membership, and junior practitioners of any age are most welcome to get involved.

We are a subcommittee of the Law Society NT, and have a representative on the Society's Council. In addition, we have a representative on the Australian Young Lawyers Committee of the Law Council of Australia, which ensures young lawyers' issues are promoted at a national level.

We are involved in organising professional development and social events. Keep a look out for our Calendar which will be released in March 2017 for an overview of all the events and activities you can be a part of in 2017.

Getting involved

You can sign up to be a member of NTYL and receive our regular newsletter here.

We have a Facebook group independent of the Law Society called 'NTYL' to share photographs and notify people of upcoming events.

You can also contact NTYL by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

NTYL 2017 Committee

At the NTYL AGM in 2017 the following people were voted into the Executive Committee:

Melissa Chen - Darwin Co-President
Lokesh Kashyap - Alice Springs Co-President
Alex O'Donnell Vice-President
Katherine Paterson Treasurer
Elizabeth Thomson Secretary
Maureen Gabriel General committee member
Michelle Duggan General committee member
Charmaine Lentija General committee member
Mark Jehne General committee member
Andrew Smith General committee member
Dominic Gomez General committee member












Past Presidents

  • 2016 - Hugh Bond
  • 2015 - Hugh Bond
  • 2014 - Peter Clayton & Rose Watts
  • 2013 - Emma Farnell
  • 2012 - Olivia Go & Ashley Marsh
  • 2011 - Ashley Marsh & Sophie Anderson
  • 2010 - Donna Storey & Nick Johansen
  • 2009 - Kristy Rogerson
  • 2008 - Caroline Heske
  • 2007 - Kris Norrington
  • 2006 - Lisa O'Donoghue

Page last updated 20 February 2017

Office Location

Level 3, 9 Cavenagh Street
Darwin NT 0800

Mailing Address

GPO Box 2388
Darwin NT 0801


Phone: 08 8981 5104
Fax: 08 8941 1623