Law Society NT Logo
Law Society NT Logo

Bilata Legal Pathways Program


The Bilata Legal Pathways Program is designed to encourage greater participation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the studies of law and within the legal profession.

Visit the Bilata website to learn more or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 



Constituent Bodies

The Law Council is a federal organisation representing approximately 60,000 Australian legal professionals through its constituent member Bar Associations and Law Societies (known as 'Constituent Bodies').

There are 17 Constituent Bodies including the Large Law Firm Group.

Page last updated 15 March 2013

Northern Territory Women Lawyers' Association (NTWLA)


The cost of membership to the NTWLA is as follows:

Visit the Australian Women Lawyers website.


NTWLA is interested in establishing a Mentorship Scheme for women lawyers with the following aims:

  • To provide NT women lawyers with a readily accessible opportunity to develop relationships across the profession;
  • To foster a culture of information-sharing, networking and support amongst NT women lawyers;
  • To welcome and orientate new women lawyers to the profession and the unique legal landscape of the NT; and
  • To attract new members to NTWLA.

Felicity Gerry QC provided a fantastic prelude to our proposed mentorship scheme at our Patrons Drinks on 8 August 2014. If you would like to read further, a copy of Felicity's speech can be found here.

If you would like to be involved in the development of a mentorship scheme, please download and complete this questionnaire and return to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Provide an opportunity for NT women lawyers to:

  • Network, share and learn
  • Support charity and community groups
  • Mentor or be mentored
  • Socialise and have fun
  • Be involved in law reform and advocate legislative change in relation to matters affecting women
  • Have a voice at a Territory and national level on issues affecting women and the law


PO Box 3384
Darwin NT 0801
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Northern Territory Young Lawyers (NTYL)


The NTYL represents lawyers in the NT who have been admitted to practice for less than five years, or have been admitted to practice and are under 36 years of age. This includes graduate clerks and GDLP students enrolled in a law course or practical legal training course which is recognised by the Legal Practitioners Admission Board for the period of enrolment. Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to register today!

The objects of the Committee are to:

  1. to promote and assist professional development for Young Lawyers;
  2. to facilitate discussion and conversations in relation to issues affecting Young Lawyers;
  3. to advance and promote the interests of Young Lawyers;
  4. to support Young Lawyers; and
  5. to assist the Society and its other committees by participation in Society's committees, undertaking research and surveys of its members and preparing reports for Council.

We are a subcommittee of the Law Society NT, and have a representative on the Society's Council. In addition, we have a representative on the Australian Young Lawyers Committee of the Law Council of Australia, which ensures young lawyers' issues are promoted at a national level.



We are involved in organising professional development and social events.

  • TBA


You can sign up to be a member of NTYL and receive our regular newsletter here.

We have a Facebook group independent of the Society called 'NTYLpage' to share photographs and notify people of upcoming events.

You can also contact NTYL by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  • President: Lang Williamson, Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Vice-President (Darwin): Kyla Pajarillo, HWL Ebsworth
  • Vice-President (Alice Springs): Karla Goodman, Povey Stirk
  • Treasurer: Ben Fernandez, NT Legal Aid Commission
  • Secretary: Hiliary Thornberry, Hunt & Hunt

General Committee Members:

  • Cooper Hood, Airport Development Group
  • Denita Nair, Hall & Wilcox
  • Gigi Dadds, Tindall Gask Bentley
  • Keelyn Nicolle, Ward Keller
  • Margo Hi, Solicitor for the NT
  • Michael Halkitis, Hunt & Hunt
  • Zade Mauger, Hunt & Hunt


  • 2021 - Nicholas Salagaras
  • 2020 - Sarah Strzelecki
  • 2019 - Sarah Dowd
  • 2018 - Sarah Dowd
  • 2017 - Lokesh Kashyap & Melissa Chen
  • 2016 - Hugh Bond
  • 2015 - Hugh Bond
  • 2014 - Peter Clayton & Rose Watts
  • 2013 - Emma Farnell
  • 2012 - Olivia Go & Ashley Marsh
  • 2011 - Ashley Marsh & Sophie Anderson
  • 2010 - Donna Storey & Nick Johansen
  • 2009 - Kristy Rogerson
  • 2008 - Caroline Heske
  • 2007 - Kris Norrington
  • 2006 - Lisa O'Donoghue
Last modified: 05/07/2023 11:54 AM

Office details

Office: 3/6 Lindsay St. Darwin NT 0800
Post: GPO Box 2388 Darwin NT 0801
ABN: 62 208 314 893


Please note that the Society does not offer legal advice.

A list of lawyers can be found here.

Telephone: (08) 8981 5104