Law Society NT Logo
Law Society NT Logo

Constituent Bodies

The Law Council is a federal organisation representing approximately 60,000 Australian legal professionals through its constituent member Bar Associations and Law Societies (known as 'Constituent Bodies').

There are 17 Constituent Bodies including the Large Law Firm Group.

Page last updated 15 March 2013

Northern Territory Women Lawyers' Association (NTWLA)


The NTWLA 2016 committee comprises:
Ros Chenoweth President
Bronwyn Haack Vice-President (Darwin)
Aimee Winra Vice-President (Alice Springs)
Frieda Evans Treasurer & Public Officer
Adele Bogard Secretary
Brenda Monaghan Ordinary Member
Traci Keys Ordinary Member
Kirby Lawler Ordinary Member
Lisa Coffey Ordinary Member
Sall Forrest Ordinary Member
Lhia Clare Davis Ordinary Member
Jessica Holgersson Ordinary Member


Become a member of the NTWLA

The cost of membership to the NTWLA is as follows:

Full individual membership (working) $35.00

Student or unemployed membership or GDLP $15.00

Download 2016 / 2017 NTWLA Application form

Visit Australian Women Lawyers Association website

NTWLA mentorship scheme

NTWLA is interested in establishing a Mentorship Scheme for women lawyers with the following aims:

  • To provide NT women lawyers with a readily accessible opportunity to develop relationships across the profession;
  • To foster a culture of information-sharing, networking and support amongst NT women lawyers;
  • To welcome and orientate new women lawyers to the profession and the unique legal landscape of the NT; and
  • To attract new members to NTWLA

Felicity Gerry QC provided a fantastic prelude to our proposed mentorship scheme at our Patrons Drinks on 8 August 2014. If you would like to read further, a copy of Felicity?s speech is attached.

If you would like to be involved in the development of a mentorship scheme, please download and complete this questionnaire and return to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

NTWLA proposed events for 2016


NTWLA Mission Statement

Provide an opportunity for NT women lawyers to:

  • Network, share and learn
  • Support charity & community groups
  • Mentor or be mentored
  • Socialise and have fun
  • Be involved in law reform and advocate legislative change in relation to matters affecting women
  • Have a voice at a Territory and national level on issues affecting women and the law

Contact details:

PO Box 3384
Darwin NT 0801
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Page last updated 16 October 2014

Northern Territory Young Lawyers (NTYL)

The NTYL represents lawyers in the Northern Territory who have been admitted to practice for less than five years, as well as graduate clerks and GDLP students (even if not yet admitted). Despite being called the 'young lawyers', there is no age restriction on membership, and junior practitioners of any age are most welcome to get involved.

We are a subcommittee of the Law Society Northern Territory, and have a representative on the Society's Council. In addition, we have a representative on the Australian Young Lawyers Committee of the Law Council of Australia, which ensures young lawyers' issues are promoted at a national level.

We are involved in organising professional development and social events. Keep a look out for our Calendar which will be released in March 2017 for an overview of all the events and activities you can be a part of in 2017!

Getting involved

You can sign up to be a member of NTYL and receive our regular newsletter here.

We have a Facebook group independent of the Law Society called 'NTYL' to share photographs and notify people of upcoming events.

You can also contact NTYL by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

NTYL 2017 Committee

At the NTYL AGM in 2017 the following people were voted into the Executive Committee:

  • President: Melissa Chen & Lokesh Kashyap
  • Vice-President: Alex O'Donnell
  • Treasurer: Katherine Paterson
  • Secretary: Elizabeth Thomson

General committee members:

  • Maureen Gabriel
  • Michelle Duggan
  • Charmaine Lentija
  • Mark Jehne
  • Andrew Smith
  • Dominic Gomez

Past Presidents

  • 2016 - Hugh Bond
  • 2015 - Hugh Bond
  • 2014 - Peter Clayton & Rose Watts
  • 2013 - Emma Farnell
  • 2012 - Olivia Go & Ashley Marsh
  • 2011 - Ashley Marsh & Sophie Anderson
  • 2010 - Donna Storey & Nick Johansen
  • 2009 - Kristy Rogerson
  • 2008 - Caroline Heske
  • 2007 - Kris Norrington
  • 2006 - Lisa O'Donoghue

Page last updated 20 February 2017

Office Location

Level 3, 9 Cavenagh Street
Darwin NT 0800

Mailing Address

GPO Box 2388
Darwin NT 0801


Phone: 08 8981 5104
Fax: 08 8941 1623